What Are The Penalties Of A Sexual Assault Charge In Colorado?

If someone accuses you of sexual assault and officers charge you, it’s crucial to know what it could mean for your future. Of course, you face a lifetime on the sex offender registry, but you also face numerous penalties depending on how severe the charge is.

Typically, you may face a normal presumptive sentence or a crime of violence sentence. Here’s how the penalties break down. Additionally, sentencings on some sex crimes may fall under Colorado’s indeterminate sentencing schemes. An indeterminate sentencing scheme requires that the Judge on your case sentence you to a minimum prison sentence, with the maximum sentencing including imprisonment for the rest of your life. It is within the discretion of the parole board to determine when, or if, a sex offender sentenced to an indeterminate sentence should be released from prison.

Class 4 Felony

A class 4 felony can result in:

  • 2 to 6 years in prison for a normal presumptive sentence.
  • 5 to 15 years for a crime of violence sentence.
  • Subject to lifetime supervision.
  • Registration on the sex offender registry.
  • May face indeterminate sentencing

Class 3 Felony

A class 3 felony is worse than a class 4 and results in a longer prison sentence; the lifetime supervision and sex offender registry are still in play. A class 3 felony can result in 4 to 12 years in prison for a normal presumptive sentence or 10 to 32 years for a crime of violence sentence. Further, sex offenders may face an indeterminate sentence, meaning that the Judge will set a floor, but not a ceiling, to the prison sentence.

Class 2 Felony

Class 2 felonies can result in 8 to 24 years in prison for normal presumptive sentences or 16 to 48 years for crime of violence sentences. Lifetime supervision and sex offender registration remain in place. This charge is for sexual assault by more than one adult or when the actor causes the victim bodily injury during the assault. It may also be subject to indeterminate sentencing.

Class 1 Misdemeanor

There’s no crime of violence sentence associated with a class 1 misdemeanor. However, a conviction could result in 6 months in jail up to 24 months in prison for a normal presumptive sentence.

If you face one of these serious charges, it’s vital to get legal counsel on your side. Working with our Denver sex crime lawyers can help you. At Springer & Steinberg, P.C., we prioritize your rights and work to defend your rights, future, and freedom through uncertain times.


Contact Us Today

Start Your Free Consultation by Filling out the Form Below

"*" indicates required fields

First Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.