Denver Underage Drinking Lawyer
Protect Your Teen’s Future from Conviction
Part of being a teenager is experimenting with what life offers and making mistakes. Just because your teenage son or daughter had an alcoholic beverage at a party does not mean their entire future should be jeopardized and worsened due to a criminal conviction. Yet, the juvenile justice system would do just that if given the chance.
Stand up for your teenager by getting them respected, effective defense from Springer & Steinberg, P.C. and our Denver underage drinking attorneys. We have decades of combined experience and an in-depth familiarity with local courts and judges. When your child’s future hangs in the balance, don’t take your chances by going with any other law firm!
Call an underage drinking lawyer in Denver at (303) 861-2800 today to fight for your child’s justice.
Colorado Underage Drinking Laws
There is a long list of underage drinking laws in Colorado, such as:
- Underage possession of alcohol: Possessing any amount of alcohol as a minor under the age of 21, either on their person or in their control, such as in their room.
- Underage consumption of alcohol: Consuming any amount of alcohol as a minor, except for certain exceptions that are explained below.
- Underage purchase of alcohol: Attempting to purchase or receive alcohol as a minor, either from a vendor or an individual.
- False identification for obtaining alcohol: Creating or using a falsified identification to obtain alcohol from a vendor or individual.
It is important to note that Colorado does allow parents and guardians to provide small amounts of alcohol to their children for special occasions or under their strict supervision. The exceptions may serve as a defense to underage possession or consumption charges if you can prove that you provided your teenage son or daughter with the alcohol and why you did.
Colorado Underage Drinking & Driving Basics
Colorado makes it illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level above 0.02 and below 0.05. A minor driving with a BAC level above 0.05 can be charged with a DUI instead of an underage DUI. An underage driver with a BAC level above 0.00 but below 0.02 can still be charged with underage possession of alcohol, though.
Penalties for Underage Drinking in Colorado
The potential penalties against underage drinkers escalate depending on how many previous underage drinking or possession convictions your child has on their juvenile record.
Penalties for underage drinking or possession charges include:
- First time: $250 fine and 3-month driver’s license suspension, even if the minor was not driving at the time of their arrest.
- Second time: $500 and a 6-month driver’s license suspension.
- Third or greater time: Up to $1,000 fine, 1-year driver’s license suspension, up to 12-months in jail, and a misdemeanor mark on the minor’s criminal record.
Other underage drinking charges – such as purchasing or false identification use – will likely include worsened penalties upon conviction. You should also be aware of the consequences your child will face upon even a first-time conviction that are not caused by the juvenile justice system. For example, your child may be suspended or expelled from school, get fired from their job, struggle to get accepted to a college or university, lose scholarship offers, and much more just because they have an underage drinking conviction in their past. To protect their future with confidence, you have to do all you can to defeat their charges now.
Criminal Defense Acquitted at Trial
Criminal Defense Not Guilty
Criminal Defense Dismissed Mid Trial
Criminal Defense Charges Dismissed
Careless Driving Causing Death and Failure to Yield the Right-of-way to Stationary Emergency Vehicle.
Sexual Harassment Dismissed
We represented an entertainment business in a lawsuit filed by the business’ former employee.