Colorado Sexual Assault Defense Attorneys
Don’t Bet Your Future on a Weak Defense
Springer & Steinberg, P.C. provides unwavering, unjudging defense counsel for people who have been accused of or charged with sexual assault in Colorado. Just having an accusatory finger pointed at you can be enough to completely destroy your reputation in your community and workplace. A conviction will do even more damage by possibly locking you away for years and forcing you to pay steep fines. You cannot risk so much on a defense that you aren’t confident will work. Get our highly experienced and reputable criminal defense team in your corner right away.
We can defend you against the following charges and more:
- Sexual assault or rape (18-3-402, C.R.S.)
- Sexual contact, battery, or groping (18-3-404, C.R.S.)
- Sexual assault on a child (18-3-405, C.R.S.)
Call our firm at (303) 861-2800 or use an online contact form to request a no-cost consultation.
Colorado Consent Defense
In many sexual assault cases, we can use the defense of consent to prove to the court that our client did not commit sexual assault as it is defined in the law and, therefore, should not be convicted. If the alleged victim or accuser provided consent or acted in a way that a reasonable person would have thought consent was willingly given, then a conviction should not be justified.
In Colorado, people cannot legally give consent if they are:
- Under the age of 17
- Unable to mentally understand the sexual act
- Asleep or unconscious
- Drugged by the accused
- Under the authority of the accused
- Under the medical care of the accused
Penalties for Sexual Assault in Colorado
Colorado prosecutors are serious about landing as many sexual assault convictions as they can. They will often blaze through investigations and push any evidence they find as factual, even if it is questionable at best. You need to be aware that they will strive for a conviction, as well as the maximum penalties for your case.
The average sexual assault sentencing can include:
- Up to $750,000 in fines
- Up to 12 years of imprisonment
Aggravating factors could call for additional sentencing requirements, such as:
- Up to $1,000,000 in fines
- Up to 24 years of imprisonment
- Indeterminate sentencing
A common example of an aggravating factor is if the alleged victim was a minor or if they suffered serious injuries during the assault. Defendants who have been convicted of violent crimes can also face aggravating factors in their sexual assault case. An indeterminate sentence means that a defendant could spend the rest of their life in prison.
Convictions Can Hurt Other Parts of Your Life
Do not believe that the only penalties for a sexual assault conviction in Colorado are imprisonment and fines, though. There are other more abstract consequences, as well as penalties that can be imposed by the court that less common.
If you are convicted of sexual assault, you could:
- Lose your parental rights by a family court order
- Undergo community supervision for years after release from imprisonment
- Be placed in mandatory psychological treatments for years
Sexual assault convictions in Colorado cannot be sealed, either. Any public or private entity that wants to search your criminal record will be able to see your sexual assault conviction, even decades later.
Placement on the Colorado Sex Offender Registry
For many sexual assault convicts in Colorado, the worst punishment they face is their mandatory placement on the Colorado Bureau of Investigation felony sex offender registry. Being a registered felony sex offender can make it much more difficult for you to find a job, get a loan, rent or buy housing, and more.
On the Colorado sex offender registry, personal information of yours will be listed, including:
- Name and physical description
- Date of birth
- Convictions that placed you on the registry
- Descriptions of those crimes if necessary
- And more
You need to re-register with the sex offender registry at set intervals or when you move to a new address. Failing to register is a separate crime that can be penalized with a fine of up to $100,000 and up to 18 months of imprisonment.
Your Defense Should Start Right Now
There are always ways to defend against sexual assault charges and accusations. To explore your options, call (303) 861-2800 without delay. Our Colorado sexual assault defense attorneys are always ready to defend you against the extreme consequences of a conviction, like losing your freedom, finances, career, and reputation. Everyone deserves a solid defense like those we can build for you.
Fill out an online contact form at your next opportunity.
Criminal Defense Acquitted at Trial
Criminal Defense Not Guilty
Criminal Defense Dismissed Mid Trial
Will Contest $4.46 Million
In the Matter of the Estate of Mark M. King, Colorado Court of Appeals Case.
Product Liability $4.35 Million
A roll-over of a small motorized vehicle.
Personal Injury $800,000
Explosion/fire resulting in a severely burned worker.
Personal Injury $900,000
Wrongful Death in a work-related accident.